• PHONE: (860) 972-2249
  • FAX: (860) 545-2204



    About the Department
    • Anatomic Pathology
    • Clinical Chemistry
    • Hematology
    • Microbiology
    • Transfusion Medicine
    • Molecular Pathology/Cytogenetics
    The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine employs current state-of-the-art diagnostic techniques and offers a full spectrum of services in anatomic pathology and clinical laboratory medicine to physicians and their patients through the laboratory disciplines of: Anatomic Pathology, Clinical Chemistry, Hematology, Microbiology, Transfusion Medicine, and Molecular Pathology/Cytogenetics
    The department is staffed by approximately 200 supervisory, technical, secretarial and clerical staff members who support the approximately 3 million tests which are performed each year. Subspecialty expertise of the staff is one of the main strengths of the department. This results in the department serving as a reference center for other institutions in the areas of anatomic pathology, hematopathology, immunopathology, and molecular pathology.
    The MD/PhD staff includes individuals with subspecialty certification in microbiology, transfusion medicine, chemistry, molecular biology, hematopathology, neuropathology, cytopathology, pediatric pathology and immunopathology. The staff supports Connecticut Children’s Medical Center in anatomic and laboratory medicine services and provides clinical consultation and scientific support for Clinical Laboratory Partners, LLC (CLP).
    CLP, a Hartford HealthCare partner, provides the technical inpatient laboratory services at Hartford Hospital and MidState Medical Center and provides outpatient laboratory services through approximately 100 outpatient facilities in Connecticut.

    Department Leadership
    CHAIRMAN: William T. Pastuszak, MD
    ASSOCIATE DIRECTORS: Bradford Sherburne, MD
    Richard Muller, MD
    SECRETARY: Rebecca Williams, MD
    Director, Anatomic Pathology: Richard Muller, MD
    Director, Cytopathology: Theresa Voytek, MD
    Director, Autopsy: Thomas E. Ciesielski, MD
    Director, Immunopathology: Richard W. Cartun, PhD
    Director, Hematopathology: William N. Rezuke, Jr., MD
    Director, Division of Laboratory Medicine: Bradford Sherburne, MD
    Director, Clinical Chemistry: Gregory S. Makowski, MD
    Director, Hematology: William T. Pastuszak, MD
    Director, Microbiology: Jaber Aslanzadeh, PhD
    Director Molecular Pathology/Cytogenetics: Laila M. Mnayer, PhD
    Director, Transfusion Medicine: Bradford Sherburne, MD


    Active Medical Staff